pete haycock … 1951 – 2013

Today I received the saddest news …
An incredible guitarist, writer, singer, and all around great bloke has left us …
pete

Many years ago, when I was first throwing around the idea of starting the “hip is everything” and “blueroom” websites, mostly throwing away the idea to be honest, I had the incredible good fortune and luck to meet and befriend a man who was one of my guitar idols growing up …
I had studiously, over the years, learned his songs, played his albums with the Climax Blues Band until they wore out and had revered his talents from afar …
I was fortunate enough to see him play several times and was completely and utterly blown away each and every time by his amazing talents …
I had always held Pete in the highest regard for his writing, singing, and even more for his beautiful and melodic playing …
To my mind he was one of the world’s greatest guitar players …
I still feel that way today, 40 years later …
Even though I had no idea what to expect when first encountering Pete, he was not at all what I expected …
There was not a single shred of the “rock star” that one might expect …
No ego, no exaggerated sense of self at all …
Only a humble, honest and decent bloke …
He was warm, funny, full of life and incredibly generous with his words of inspiration, encouragement, his friendship, his knowledge and his talents …
There would be no “blueroom”, no “hip is everything”, and no music coming out of my brain, heart and hands had it not been for Pete’s encouragement and inspiration …
He got me off my ass and working my craft again with more fervor and love for my music than I had ever known, and for that I will always be indebted …
I cannot even begin to put into words how much I owe you man, and will never be able to thank you enough for all that you so easily and generously did for me …
The world has lost one of its truly great citizens …
My deepest condolences go out to Pete’s wife and his family …
Pete, you will be deservedly and much missed my friend …
I miss you already, and a piece of me will never be quite the same …
Peace …
As always, and forever, Pete’s music ”Plays On” …

Leave a Reply

