“… like a cornered rat”

from News and Guts

Here is a Canadian writer’s take on how the Trump presidency will come to an inglorious end. This view from The Toronto Star paints a dark portrait of what could lie ahead:

“More than anyone, Trump knows what Mueller will discover. He knows the legal peril that he and his family are in. He also knows that his presidency is certain to end — in some way — if that story ever becomes public.”

“We should remember this when we see how Trump acts in the weeks to come. Like a cornered rat, he will fight to protect his interests. In every conceivable way, he will work to stop Mueller’s probe, to challenge Congress if it intervenes, to undermine the press and judiciary if they get in the way and — yes — even to engage in reckless military adventures if he thought that would strengthen his position.”
entire article here …


here’s another take from north of the 49th …

Muskrat Love … To The Death

Many years ago,when i was a much younger man, I took a gig (between music gigs) surveying a road in the middle of nowhere … we were many miles into the bush, in northern Alberta, on the edge of one of Alberta’s most northerly reserves … the snow was deep, the wind was blowing and I really thought that I’d made the mistake of my young life by taking the job …
but it was there, on a particularly shitty and freezing day that I witnessed an event that has stuck with me my entire adult life …
an event that taught me all I needed to know to understand the Republican party as it is today … I was walking along beside a very large and noisy D9 Cat as it plowed down trees and bushes to make way for what would one day become a “road to nowhere” …
I was paying only just enough attention to what I was doing so that I wouldn’t get run over by the big yellow machine of destruction next to me or freeze to death … suddenly this muskrat appears ahead of the cat, snarling and gnashing and apparently really pissed …
being your typical, long haired, not too “bush savvy” city boy, my first instinct was to get a little closer and get a better view of the obviously enraged critter …
it seems we’d crashed through a piece of land that this varmint viewed as “his” and he was coming out to let the trespassers know who was boss … I  had just started to move towards the little fella when suddenly this rather large hand comes out of nowhere and grabs me by the back of my collar and literally lifts me off the ground and half way up onto the D9 …
as I finished my rather abrupt journey skyward and clambered up onto the machine I heard the voice of a rather large and serious native cat skinner (operator) who greets me with “what the fuck you think you’re doing city boy?”, followed by the laughter of himself and his three cohorts who had joined us on the side of this giant machine … I  stammered out that I was just going to have a closer look at what seemed like what might be a “cool scene” as the muskrat proceeded to attack the blade of the giant machine …
the laughter grew louder as I asked what could be wrong with that …
it was then that this ginormous man explained to me that the muskrat was freaked out that we had destroyed his “space” and was much more dangerous than I could ever imagine … I looked down at this rather small, furry ball of rage and watched as it spent the next several minutes repeatedly attacking the blade of the cat with a ferocity that I honestly never imagined could be contained in such a small creature …
it attacked the machine until it was dead …
the critter, not the machine that is …
it basically tore itself to bits on the sharp metallic edges of the machine …
when it was all over, we all climbed down and had a closer look at what had been a self inflicted and suicidal bloodbath …
it was then that the same guy who had only minutes before grabbed me up with the “what the fuck you think you’re doing city boy?”  greeting explained to me that the “dying throes of any creature” are the most insane and dangerously suicidal moments of any life …
that in is those last moments a wounded animal will do truly insane and self destructive things to preserve it’s way of life …
even if it means it’s own destruction … or the destruction of anyone or anything else that gets in it’s path … that that is when it is most dangerous to all around it …
I learned a valuable lesson that day about muskrats, and later, much later, i would come to realize that it was the way of all creatures …
I watched a very similar scenario play out again years later in the Canadian political arena when the Conservative party of Canada had over reached enormously and smugly with it’s our way or the highway agenda and the Canadian people were about to put an end to them in the next general election …
everyone knew what was coming and so the leader bailed and they sacrificed a lady named Kim Campbell and she got to be prime minister for a summer until the election while the old guard of the party retreated and ran quickly for the hills …
then they all but disappeared from the electoral map for nearly a generation … I have, for the last couple years, especially since the Republican victories in the 2010 midterm elections, seen that same “death dance” …
the GOP veering back and forth, to and fro, grasping at straws and flailing and gnashing in a style eerily similar to that muskrat many years before … I believe what we are witnessing is the death dance of the GOP … and the Apricot Asshole, one Donnie Bad Touch is a symptom of a couple of decades of ideology over country that the right has employed at least since Reagan … might as well just sit back and watch the carnage ….
In the words of Napoléon Bonaparte “Never interfere with an enemy while he’s in the process of destroying himself.” …
And in the words of a very large and VERY wise native gentleman from northern Alberta, who’s name sadly escapes me at the moment, “Never screw with a pissed off critter” …

Leave a Reply

